Proposition visant à soumettre les zones dédiées aux fins de protection identifiés dans la stratégie d'aménagement de la forêt Whitefeather et des zones adjacentes (2006) (stratégie d'aménagement de la forêt Whitefeather)

Numéro du REO
010-7226
Type d'avis
Règlement
Affiché par
Ministère des Richesses naturelles et des Forêts
Étape de l'avis
Proposition
Proposition affichée
Période de consultation
Du 31 août 2009 au 15 octobre 2009 (45 jours) Fermé
Dernière mise à jour

Cette consultation a eu lieu :

du 31 août 2009
au 15 octobre 2009

Détails de la proposition

Description du règlement

En juin 2006, la Première nation de Pikangikum, en partenariat avec le MRN, a terminé le processus de planification de l'aménagement du territoire axée sur les collectivités pour la forêt Whitefeather située au nord de Red Lake, dans le Nord-Ouest de l'Ontario. La stratégie d’aménagement de la forêt Whitefeather reflète la vision de la Première nation de Pikangikum pour un renouveau économique par la gestion et l'exploitation des ressources fondées sur le savoir autochtone et les traditions culturelles.

La stratégie d’aménagement approuvée de la forêt Whitefeather a permis d'établir les zones dédiées aux fins de protection devant être réglementées. Le MRN, en partenariat avec la Première nation de Pikangikum, propose de soumettre les zones dédiées aux fins de protection à la même réglementation que les parcs provinciaux en vertu de la Loi sur les parcs provinciaux et les réserves de conservation. La stratégie d'aménagement ayant identifié l'établissement de ces zones dédiées aux fins de protection comme un aménagement compatible et souhaitable pouvant offrir des occasions d'affaires compatibles, la Première nation de Pikangikum souhaite donner suite à ce projet avec le MRN. La classification en tant que parc se fera par l'entremise d'une planification et d'une consultation ultérieures. Parcs Ontario et la Première nation de Pikangikum travailleront ensemble en vue de planifier et de gérer ces zones dédiées aux fins de protection en adoptant la tradition d'intendance coutumière de la Première nation de Pikangikum comme démarche fondamentale. Cette démarche alliera le savoir autochtone de la Première nation de Pikangikum à la science occidentale, comprendra une consultation de la collectivité et rendra compte du respect de l'orientation de la gestion des zones dédiées aux fins de protection telle qu'elle est établie dans la Stratégie d'aménagement de la forêt Whitefeather.

Si la proposition de règlement est adoptée, une autre modification sera apportée au Règlement de l'Ontario 663/98 (Description des régions) pris en application de la Loi de 1997 sur la protection du poisson et de la faune en vue d'autoriser la chasse dans les zones dédiées aux fins de protection conformément à la stratégie d'aménagement de la forêt Whitefeather. Aucune autre occasion de formuler des commentaires relativement à la chasse ne sera donnée au public. Les exceptions à cette orientation seront déterminées par la gestion de la planification.

Pour déterminer ces zones protégées, le processus de planification qui a mené à la publication de la Stratégie d’aménagement de la forêt Whitefeather et des zones adjacentes en juin 2006 a tenu compte des aspects environnementaux, sociaux et économiques importants de cette proposition.

Avant de décider, par le biais d'un règlement, de soumettre les zones dédiées aux fins de protection à la même règlementation que les parcs provinciaux, le MRN et la Première nation de Pikangikum consulteront les parties intéressées et les collectivités autochtones susceptibles d'être touchées. Les détails de cette consultation sont exposés plus bas.

But du règlement

Informer le public que le MRN propose, en partenariat avec la Première nation de Pikangikum, de soumettre par règlement les zones dédiées aux fins de protection identifiées dans la Stratégie d’aménagement de la forêt Whitefeather et des zones adjacentes à la même réglementation que les parcs provinciaux, et qu'il sollicite ses commentaires à cet égard.

Autres renseignements

Les parcs provinciaux de l’Ontario sont constitués en vertu d'un règlement pris en application de la Loi de 2006 sur les parcs provinciaux et les réserves de conservation. Ces parcs protègent d’importants environnements naturels, culturels et récréatifs tout en offrant de nombreuses occasions aux visiteurs de participer à des activités récréatives.

La détermination des limites des parcs provinciaux est également un projet entrepris dans le cadre des évaluations environnementales de portée générale des parcs provinciaux et réserves de conservation. Les parties intéressées peuvent demander à figurer sur la liste de diffusion du projet en communiquant avec la personne-ressource mentionnée ci-dessous.

Si la proposition de règlement est approuvée, une modification administrative sera apportée à l'Atlas et politiques d'aménagement des terres de la Couronne en vue de refléter les limites définitives et le changement de désignation de « zones dédiées aux fins de protection » à « parcs provinciaux ».

De plus amples renseignements seront disponibles au bureau de Parcs Ontario à Red Lake, au bureau de la Whitefeather Forest Management Corporation de Pikangikum et au bureau de Parcs Ontario situé à Thunder Bay.

Les liens suivants donnent accès à des renseignements supplémentaires au sujet de cet avis :

Loi de 2006 sur les parcs provinciaux et les réserves de conservation
http://www.e-laws.gov.on.ca/html/statutes/french/elaws_statutes_06p12_f.htm

Loi de 1997 sur la protection du poisson et de la faune
http://www.e-laws.gov.on.ca/html/statutes/french/elaws_statutes_97f41_f.htm

Stratégie d’aménagement de la forêt Whitefeather et des zones adjacentes (PDF, 24 Mo)
http://www.whitefeatherforest.com/wp-content/uploads/2008/08/land-use-strategy.pdf

Autres consultations publiques

Le MRN consultera les parties intéressées, y compris les principaux organismes représentant les Premières nations dans la région en question et les collectivités autochtones locales au sujet des nouvelles limites des parcs provinciaux. Un avis écrit sera envoyé aux parties intéressées susceptibles d’être touchées (p. ex., les personnes qui ont une propriété adjacente, les utilisateurs des ressources, les municipalités, les groupes d’intérêt et les organismes).

Énoncé de l'incidence du règlement

Les conséquences environnementales anticipées de cette proposition sont positives. Le fait de soumettre les zones dédiées aux fins de protection à la même réglementation que les parcs provinciaux vient couronner un engagement identifié dans la stratégie d'aménagement de la forêt Whitefeather et améliore considérablement la protection des caractéristiques représentatives et particulières de cette région.

Les conséquences sociales anticipées de cette proposition sont positives. Organiser la planification des zones dédiées aux fins de protection de la même façon que celle des parcs provinciaux tout en planifiant la gestion des ressources en vue d'autoriser la tenue d'autres activités dans la forêt Whitefeather offrira une base solide pour un renouveau économique et social au sein de la Première nation. La chasse récréative se poursuivra pendant la planification de la gestion des parcs jusqu'à ce que des décisions soient prises dans certaines régions à l'égard de la chasse. Les droits des Autochtones et les droits issus de traités continueront d'être respectés.

Les conséquences économiques anticipées de cette proposition sont positives. Des débouchés économiques conformes aux objectifs des zones dédiées aux fins de protection seront cernés et développés par le biais d'un processus de planification ouvert. Un partenariat de marketing entre la Whitefeather Forest Management Corporation et le MRN (Parcs Ontario) permettra d'offrir des occasions de marketing pour ces zones dès qu'elles seront réglementées en tant que parcs provinciaux.

Documents justificatifs

Consulter directement les documents

Avis important : En raison de la pandémie de COVID-19, il est impossible de consulter les documents en personne pour le moment.

Veuillez communiquer avec la personne-ressource mentionnée dans le présent avis pour voir si d’autres dispositions peuvent être prises.

Parc provincial Woodland Caribou
Address

227 Rue Howey
Red Lake, ON
P0V 2M0
Canada

Office phone number

Commentaire

La consultation est maintenant terminée.

La période de consultation a eu lieu du 31 août 2009
au 15 octobre 2009

Communiquer avec nous

Personne-ressource

Doug Gilmore

Phone number
Office
Parc provincial Woodland Caribou
Address

227 Rue Howey
Red Lake, ON
P0V 2M0
Canada

Office phone number

S'inscrire pour obtenir des avis

Nous vous enverrons des avis par courriel accompagnés de toute mise à jour liée à cette consultation. Vous pouvez modifier vos préférences relatives à l'avis en tout temps en allant à votre page de profil où se trouvent vos paramètres.

Suivre cet avis

Regulation of Dedicated Protected Areas, identified in the Whitefeather Forest and Adjacent Areas Land Use Strategy (2006) (Whitefeather Strategy), as provincial parks under the Provincial Parks and Conservation Reserves Act (2006)

ERO number
010-7226
Notice type
Regulation
Posted by
Ministry of Natural Resources and Forestry
Notice stage
Proposal Updated
Proposal posted
Comment period
August 31, 2009 - October 15, 2009 (45 days) Closed
Last updated

Update Announcement

This notice was published in error and is a duplicate of 019-0729.

November 12, 2020

This consultation was open from:

August 31, 2009
to October 15, 2009

Proposal summary

In June 2006, Pikangikum First Nation, working in partnership with MNR, completed a community-based land use planning process for the Whitefeather Forest, north of Red Lake in Northwestern Ontario.

Proposal details

Description of regulation

In June 2006, Pikangikum First Nation, working in partnership with MNR, completed a community-based land use planning process for the Whitefeather Forest, north of Red Lake in Northwestern Ontario. The Whitefeather Strategy reflects Pikangikum First Nation’s strong vision for economic renewal through resource development and stewardship, based on indigenous knowledge and cultural traditions.

The approved Whitefeather Strategy, identified the establishment of Dedicated Protected Areas which were intended to be regulated. MNR, with the partnership support of Pikangikum First Nation is proposing the regulation of the Dedicated Protected Areas as provincial parks under the Provincial Parks and Conservation Reserves Act. The establishment of Dedicated Protected Areas which can support compatible economic opportunities has been identified as a desired and compatible land use in the strategy, and Pikangikum First Nation wishes to move forward with MNR on this opportunity. Park classification will be determined through further planning and consultation. Ontario Parks and Pikangikum First Nation will work together to plan and manage these Dedicated Protected Areas using Pikangikum First Nation customary stewardship tradition as a fundamental approach. This approach will incorporate Pikangikum First Nation’s indigenous knowledge with western science, include community consultation and will report on the achievement of the Dedicated Protected Area management direction as set out in the Whitefeather Strategy.

If the proposed regulation proceeds, a subsequent regulation change will be made to Ontario Regulation 663/98 (Area Description) under the Fish and Wildlife Conservation Act to allow hunting in the Dedicated Protected Areas consistent with the Whitefeather Strategy. No additional opportunity for public comment on the hunting regulation will be provided. Exceptions to this direction will be determined through management planning.

The planning process that led to the June 2006 release of the Whitefeather Forest and Adjacent Areas Land Use Strategy, considered the environmentally significant natural, social and economic aspects of designating land as protected areas.

Prior to making a decision regarding the regulation of the Dedicated Protected Areas as provincial parks in regulation, MNR and Pikangikum First Nation will consult with potentially affected stakeholders and local Aboriginal communities. The details of this consultation are set out below.

Purpose of regulation

To advise the public of MNR’s proposal to establish, by regulation, the Dedicated Protected Areas as identified in the Whitefeather Forest and Adjacent Areas Land Use Strategy as provincial parks in partnership with Pikangikum First Nation and to seek public comment on that proposal.

Other Information:

Ontario’s provincial parks are established by regulation under the Provincial Parks and Conservation Reserves Act (2006). Parks protect significant natural, cultural and recreational environments, while providing ample opportunities for visitors to participate in recreational activities.

Establishing provincial park boundaries is also a project under the Class Environmental Assessment for Provincial Parks and Conservation Reserves and interested parties can have their name added to the project mailing list by contacting the individual in this notice.

If the regulation proposal is approved, an administrative amendment will be made to the Crown Land Use Policy Atlas to reflect the final boundary and the designation change from “Dedicated Protected Area” to “Provincial Park”.

Further information on this proposal will be available at the Ontario Parks office in Red Lake, the Whitefeather Forest Management Corporation office on Pikangikum and the Ontario Parks Zone office in Thunder Bay.

The following weblinks provide supporting and additional information about this notice:

Provincial Parks and Conservation Reserves Act
http://www.e-laws.gov.on.ca/html/statutes/english/elaws_statutes_06p12_e.htm

Fish and Wildlife Conservation Act
http://www.e-laws.gov.on.ca/html/statutes/english/elaws_statutes_97f41_e.htm

Whitefeather Forest and Adjacent Areas Land Use Strategy (24 MB PDF)
http://www.whitefeatherforest.com/wp-content/uploads/2008/08/land-use-strategy.pdf

Other public consultation opportunities

MNR will consult with potentially affected stakeholders, principal representative First Nations in the planning area and local Aboriginal communities on refinement of the boundaries. Direct written notice will be given to local potentially affected stakeholders (such as adjacent landowners, resources users, municipalities, interest groups and organizations) and to provincial interest groups and provincial organizations.

Regulatory impact statement

The anticipated environmental consequences of the proposal are positive. Regulation of the Dedicated Protected Areas as provincial parks completes a commitment identified in the Whitefeather Strategy and gives significantly improved protection of the representative and special features found in this site region.

The anticipated social consequences of the proposal are positive. Orderly planning of the Dedicated Protected Areas as provincial parks in concert with resource management planning for other activities within the Whitefeather Forest will provide a firm base for the economic and social renewal within the First Nation. Recreational hunting will continue until decisions on hunting in specific areas are made during park management planning. Aboriginal and Treaty rights will continue to be respected.

The anticipated economic consequences of the proposal are positive. Economic opportunities consistent with goals and objectives of the Dedicated Protected Areas will be identified and developed through an open planning process. Marketing opportunities for these areas once regulated as provincial parks will be enhanced through a marketing partnership between Whitefeather Forest Management Corporation and MNR (Ontario Parks).

Supporting materials

View materials in person

Important notice: Due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, viewing supporting materials in person is not available at this time.

Please reach out to the Contact listed in this notice to see if alternate arrangements can be made.

Woodland Caribou Provincial Park
Address

227 Howey Street
Red Lake, ON
P0V 2M0
Canada

Office phone number

Comment

Commenting is now closed.

The comment period was from August 31, 2009
to October 15, 2009

Connect with us

Contact

Doug Gilmore

Phone number
Office
Parc provincial Woodland Caribou
Address

227 Rue Howey
Red Lake, ON
P0V 2M0
Canada

Office phone number

Sign up for notifications

We will send you email notifications with any updates related to this consultation. You can change your notification preferences anytime by visiting settings in your profile page.

Follow this notice